Tel: (818) 347-9665 PST

Saturday, June 19, 2010



Jack Irwin 1956 and Pat Griffin 1955 in "senior jacket"
The Knight Student Newspaper Notre Dame High School - Sherman Oaks - March 11, 1955 - gift to The Museum of the San Fernando Valley by Gary Fredburg 2010.

"Carrollton Clubs Oratorical Trophy Awarded Pat Griffin.
Since the last edition of The Knight, Notre Dame's debating team, under the direction of Brother John Duran C.S.C. (Latin for Congregation of Holy Cross), and the speech students of Brother Dunston C.S.C., have brought new laurels and trophies to Notre Dame.
Notre Dame entered the Carrollton Clubs' speech contest at Cathedral High on February 26. In the contest, Ken McKenzie and Pat Griffin entered the original oratory division; Pete De Grandis, Jerry Farley and John Strahl competed in the oral interpretation event, Jack Irwin, Alex Schoenborn and Leo Whitaker vied in the extempore contest, and Alex Bryant, Pat Boylan and Rodger Culver were participants in the impromptu division. The Notre Dame speakers won recognition in three categories. ...
Notre Dame was a guest school in the NFL Student Congress at Los Angeles City Hall on Feb. 18 and 19, Alex Bryant and Leo Whitaker were representative in House A, Pat Boylan and Mark Villarino were senators Senate B, and Dick Thesing was a representative in House B. ...
Five members of the debate squad took part in the Beverly Hills Individual Events Novice Tournament at Beverly Hills High School last Saturday. The contestants were John Strahl, Dick Thesing, Pat Rossi, Bruce Venneman and George Corfino.

1 comment:

jowdjbrown said...

The Notre Dame speakers won recognition in three categories. ...speech recognition program